How I Have 700+ Connections on LinkedIn at 23 Years Old

Follow us on twitter @ThincSocial

Twitter.com/ThincSocial

 

Yes I have 700+ connections. Yes I am only 23 years old. But how? It’s easy!

og-social-share-image

At first I had the goal in mind, get to that illustrious “500+ Connections” mark. Once you hit 500 on LinkedIn your public profile no longer counts how many you have. You could have 501, 546, or 859 it will still say “500+”. Anything under 500 is that exact number. When I first started my LinkedIn it was 2010 and I was a sophomore in high school. I made one because I was interested in having a profile on a social media platform, and way back then LinkedIn was way more basic looking than what it has become today.

How I first started, even back then, is still the same way you start with LinkedIn today. Uploading contacts through your email, and the best part is you can now use every email you have. By uploading multiple contacts through different emails you can make connections with anyone you have ever had an email conversation with, if they are on LinkedIn. That is how i get (and got) the bulk of my connects I have today.

Another way I have made connections is by adding family and friends, people I went to high school and college with, and so on. Uploading your personal contacts will help with this, and then LinkedIn suggests certain users you may want to connect with because of who you just requested or who just added you.

Lastly the thing I try to do to make my profile on LinkedIn as professional as possible is i add people who i have made a legitimate connection with who can possibly help me in one way or another. I start with any professor I am (or have) taking a class with. They are people who are specifically hired to help students connect their experience to the real world of which the student is interested or studying to get better in. After a semester is over if I feel like the professor and I were on the same page, I usually find and add them. The same thing goes for when I go to a professional event, or a speaker series. You find out if that person is on LinkedIn and hope to make a connection either with them or someone else in their circle.

Feel free to connect with me: LinkedIn.com

Photo sources: https://business.linkedin.com/marketing-solutions/ads

https://www.princetonlibrary.org/event/linkedin-expanded/

Leave a Reply

